God has a family for us.

DSC01654

Feelings of being alone, on the sea of life, can be a constant companion for personalities with a solitary bent, like me, or just arrive out of the blue at anytime, no matter where we are on this journey, called life, or what our circumstances are currently.

For me, it is not how many or few the number of people I am surrounded with, but rather, filling that deep inbuilt need on the inside, we all have for closeness and true connection.  

The bible says, ‘A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother’.

Knowing Jesus, ‘a friend who sticks closer than a brother’ totally fulfills that need for me, spiritually, like the song goes, ‘we walk and we talk and he tells me I am his own’.

However, there are times when I really need to feel meaningful physical closeness and connection, like, right now.

As a believer in the truth of God’s word, I realized when it said, God sets the lonely in families’, I needed to broaden my thinking if this was to happen for me.

‘Families’ meant, not only, whatever or wherever my biological family was at, but looking with new eyes at the family he was putting in my life, no matter how unlikely I thought his matches were.

My first step, starting out small, was to reach out where I could to fulfill, the first part of Proverbs 18:24, ‘A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly’.

Slowly, building relationships when and where I could, the family I needed, where we all can give each other, real time, meaningful, closeness and connection, and physical hugs, lol, that everyone needs has developed.

So take a chance, look out for opportunities to bless in little ways the ones God has around you, let them into your life, it could be your first step to a new family.

 

 

