CASTING CROWNS

sunset log2 Winter in New Zealand has arrived, late, but bad as, plunging temperatures, torrential rain, thunder and lightning, (oh dear, I’ve sprung a leak).

Upstairs, God must have some major pieces of furniture he’s dragging around because the thunder claps are driving the little dog crazy, LOL.

Taking advantage of a short lull, I slipped out for the doggy walk this afternoon, in our only bit of wilderness, a small forest on the edge of town. I always pick up the pine-cones, as we walk, because they are great little log-fire starters.

Circling each tree, gathering, I noticed how the pine-cones full of seeds had been cast much further afield than usual, by the storms we had been suffering with. God’s clever design for renewal of the trees.

Looking at all the cones on the pine needles forest floor, tossed there by the weather, some at the feet of the trees, it set me thinking about that casting crowns scripture,

‘And whenever the living creatures give glory and honor and thanks to him who is seated on the throne, who lives forever and ever, the twenty-four elders fall down before him who is seated on the throne and worship him who lives forever and ever.’

‘They cast their crowns before the throne, saying, “Worthy are you, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for you created all things, and by your will they existed and were created.”

I know that I look forward to that time, when I will be able to repay all he has done for me, and fall down before him, adding my crown, the crown of eternal life, he gave to me, for he is indeed worthy.

In the mean time, I keep up the daily battle of surrendering the little crowns the world awards, to his higher purposes for my life, in the hope of bringing renewal to others along the way.

God Bless.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

