Good-times and Sad

Good-times, and sad, mountain tops and valleys, hellos and goodbyes, are natural features of the landscape, everyone of us passing through the world on the journey of life gets to experience. In my three score and ten, I have had my share of them all.

In the good-times, its exhilarating to have found the strength to reach the mountaintops of a personal victory. Whether its, an adversity overcome, mastery of a new skill after a hard fought battle, or one of those many milestone moments of life, we all share in common, whatever our family background or culture.

Good-times, I have noticed, somehow have the effect of lulling me into the false notion, that they will keep on rolling.

However, I have found, its not in the good times, on the mountaintops, but in the sad times, the valleys, when I really, really, need to lean on God, that my most meaningful and deepest lessons have been discovered.

Sad times, if we stick with God, open our hearts and ears to give him our full undivided attention. Focused on getting answers, that sometimes don’t arrive in a hurry, we are able to hear his voice with the most clarity.

Life brings constant changes and challenges to everyone’s door. Times when people come into our life and times when they move out.

Through it all, our heavenly father desires to teach us his ways, to not only just cope, but become over-comers, whatever comes.

In retrospect, coming out the other side of seasons of great loss, grief and despair, where I had come to the end of myself, I am always able to see, he was there all the way.

Valleys, force us to believe God more deeply, enabling, giant leaps forward in our faith, trust, and strength for the future.

For myself, living alone, I have been spoiled, well, very spoiled actually, to have had my daughter and her family living right next door for the past ten years.

I got to share closely their family milestones, ups and down, have grandchildren for sleepovers and late night movie or PS2 sessions till our eyes were falling out, lol, trips out and about, meals, school functions, all accompanied by lots of hugs and kisses and a few tears.

Now, a new season has arrived, they are all moving on. I must release them with gratitude for what has been, and a God Bless, as they leave with excitement and joy to a new life further away.

I know only God can fill the huge hole and emotional void they leave behind, and this too will pass, but for now it hurts. So I am listening to the words from this old time hymn,

What have I to dread, what have I to fear,
Leaning on the everlasting arms?
I have blessed peace with my Lord so near,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

Leaning, leaning,
Safe and secure from all alarms;
Leaning, leaning,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

And its a God moment, like he is speaking to me personally.

straight bch flier.

As Christians we can easily forget, the God of the good-times is still the God of the sad, that underpinning our successes, is God, raising us out of our valleys to stand strong, is God, and giving us hope for the future, is God.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

