ITS A BIRD’S LIFE

My first squizz through the lens of a DSLR camera, opened my eyes to the secret world of, ‘A Bird’s Life’.

img_1520-2

Easy pickings for this Seagull, fishing from the remains of an old bridge.

In my pre-camera days, I would have laughed at the thought of me, hiding out for long periods in overgrown, bug infested vegetation, just to spy on birds doing their thing.

img_1680

But with camera shy Pukekoes, being cunning at finding hidey-holes, is just what you need.

img_2167

This grey Heron, also wary of humans, took to the treetops when I came too close one day.

I was also surprised to discover, that the sounds of the shutter clicking noise, obviously, unwanted by photographers, often peaked the birds curiosity, drawing them closer.

nosy-duck-3You’ve got to admit, this Spoonbill, with its flowing locks that sort of balances out his weird beak, orange eyebrows and red eyes, must have given the creator a laugh.

best-spoonbill

A few months on, I am now totally amazed at the number of bird varieties living in my neck of the woods that I had never laid eyes on before.

best-pic-1

 This Pied Stilt mother dive bombing, was not going to let me get too close to her nest. All of the mothers were courageous in taking to the air in defense of their babies.

hawk

There was always a huge ruckus whenever a hawk flew overhead, magpies attacked it, ducks and pukekoes and their babies nesting in the river swamps screeched at the top of their lungs.

baby-maggie

This baby magpie demanding food never gave the mother a moment’s peace.

He is grown now and they still hang out together at the riverside.

Now, I’m converted.  Setting up my camera on a tripod, then laying low to get photos of the complex parallel universe of, ‘A Bird’s life’, surrounding us, everywhere, is my new norm, lol.

flax-sparrow

The myriad of sparrows living in my backyard are cheeky little clowns, who fearlessly duck and dive to snatch food from under the big birds’ noses.  Even our ‘Chookie’ is no match for them.

best-tui-pic-so-far2

New Zealand’s elusive Tui.

I am always excited to get the shots up on my computer screen  as you can’t really get a good look on the camera’s little screen.

Like everything in life, practice makes perfect, and more are becoming keepers and not deleters.

img_6688

My only glimpse of a Kingfisher for ten years.

A bird of a different kind.  The rescue helicopter, snapped while taking my friend who got mad, slammed her door and broke her arm, haha, to the hospital for a checkup.

img_1927

God’s book of words says, ‘Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Matthew 6.26. 

curious-duckyBirds, are now to me, Gods window dressing, part of the beautiful background wallpaper he created to be a visual feast for our lives.

God Bless, and next time you hear bird voices, stop and enjoy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

